BTC $80,529.83 -1.21%
ETH $2,359.28 -1.56%
BNB $729.91 -2.24%
XRP $1.28 -2.34%
SOL $100.94 -3.24%
TRX $0.3298 -0.00%
DOGE $0.0772 -3.22%
ADA $0.2068 -4.41%
BCH $277.12 -2.40%
LINK $11.56 -3.48%
HYPE $75.95 -2.56%
AAVE $138.05 -5.91%
SUI $0.9404 -5.22%
XLM $0.1697 -3.74%
ZEC $1,150.90 -6.75%
AAPL $346.85 -0.54%
AMZN $248.20 -0.13%
GOOGL $320.43 -1.15%
MSFT $522.95 -0.06%
META $641.37 -0.53%
NVDA $211.17 -0.79%
TSLA $370.38 -0.22%
SNDK $1,217.58 -5.08%
INTC $85.91 -0.70%
SPCX $146.26 -1.33%
MU $874.27 -0.80%
AMD $514.76 -0.35%
BTC $80,529.83 -1.21%
ETH $2,359.28 -1.56%
BNB $729.91 -2.24%
XRP $1.28 -2.34%
SOL $100.94 -3.24%
TRX $0.3298 -0.00%
DOGE $0.0772 -3.22%
ADA $0.2068 -4.41%
BCH $277.12 -2.40%
LINK $11.56 -3.48%
HYPE $75.95 -2.56%
AAVE $138.05 -5.91%
SUI $0.9404 -5.22%
XLM $0.1697 -3.74%
ZEC $1,150.90 -6.75%
AAPL $346.85 -0.54%
AMZN $248.20 -0.13%
GOOGL $320.43 -1.15%
MSFT $522.95 -0.06%
META $641.37 -0.53%
NVDA $211.17 -0.79%
TSLA $370.38 -0.22%
SNDK $1,217.58 -5.08%
INTC $85.91 -0.70%
SPCX $146.26 -1.33%
MU $874.27 -0.80%
AMD $514.76 -0.35%

complaint

All
Article
Flash

first_img Over 10,000 complaints have been filed against the UK's banking crypto transfer restrictions, with Lloyds and Barclays being named

According to Cointelegraph, the crypto advocacy organization Stand With Crypto stated that during a 90-day period from May to August 2026, a total of 9,803 individuals submitted 10,092 complaints to UK banks through the organization's online tools, reflecting the restrictions encountered when transferring to crypto platforms.The highest number of complaints came from Lloyds Banking Group, one of the largest banking groups in the UK, totaling 2,297, followed by Barclays with 1,569 and NatWest Group with 1,278. These complaints have raised concerns about the accessibility of crypto services in the UK ahead of the launch of a new regulatory framework for digital assets in 2027.The report shows that UK banks have varying practices regarding restrictions on crypto transfers. Barclays and HSBC UK are listed as limiting crypto transfers to £2,500 (approximately $3,300) per transaction and £10,000 (approximately $13,300) every 30 days. Six banks, including Starling Bank, TSB, and Chase UK, are listed as completely prohibiting transfers related to crypto.Meanwhile, Lloyds Banking Group and Revolut are classified as having not disclosed their restrictions on crypto transfers, despite also receiving customer complaints. Revolut's official support page states that transfers to "certain cryptocurrency exchanges" are not supported, and a spokesperson for Stand With Crypto indicated that this seems to be a technical issue rather than an established policy.Nick Jones, founder and CEO of Zumo, told Cointelegraph that banking restrictions are a common issue faced by crypto founders in the UK, which could undermine the country's ambition to become a global crypto hub. He stated that the issue of limited access to banking services needs urgent resolution so that UK crypto businesses can grow and expand in a fair environment.Jones also warned that the upcoming crypto regulatory framework in the UK may not address this issue. Although businesses are preparing for mandatory approval from the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) by October 2027, obtaining business bank accounts is not included in that framework. He added that without coordinated action, businesses may obtain full authorization but still be unable to open UK business bank accounts.

first_img The Hong Kong government responds to the regulation of emerging payment platforms, with the Monetary Authority receiving 16 complaints

On October 7, at a meeting of the Hong Kong Legislative Council, legislator Chan Chun-ying raised a written inquiry regarding the regulation of emerging payment platforms. The Acting Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Chan Ho-lam, provided a written response. The inquiry pointed out that in recent years, new aggregation payment platforms have emerged, reaching out to small merchants with low fees and "buy now, pay later" methods. Some platforms have reported overdue payments and false entries, and there are platforms that are registered only as financial technology companies, without obtaining financial licenses, and have not disclosed their partner organizations or operational status.Chan Ho-lam stated that the government and financial regulatory agencies continue to monitor emerging payment models and take enforcement actions within the statutory framework. After consulting the Monetary Authority and Customs, from January 2024 to September 2026, the Monetary Authority received 16 complaints regarding the suspected unlicensed issuance or operation of stored value payment tools. After investigation, one was substantiated, and the complainant did not report any financial loss. The Monetary Authority is following up with the relevant companies.The response pointed out that the Monetary Authority regulates stored value payment tools under the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance. Unless legally exempt, issuing or operating without a license in Hong Kong is illegal. Money services that operate currency exchange and cross-border remittances must apply for a license from Customs unless exempted. Non-bank institutions providing "buy now, pay later" services involving loan activities must apply for a money lender license under the Money Lenders Ordinance. Cases suspected of being unlicensed or non-compliant are handled by the Monetary Authority, which may collaborate with other regulatory agencies or refer to law enforcement departments.

Thailand's SEC accuses Bitkub executives of concealing a $50 million hacking loss and has filed a criminal complaint

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) of Thailand has filed a criminal complaint against the cryptocurrency exchange Bitkub Online and two former directors, Sakolkorn Sakavee and Thaweesap Rawan, accusing them of submitting false financial reports between May and October 2021. The case has been handed over to the Economic Crime Suppression Division (ECD) of Thailand for investigation, and the prosecution will decide whether to formally charge them.The SEC stated that Bitkub suffered a cyber attack in May 2021, resulting in the theft of 16 types of digital assets, with losses exceeding $50 million. Regulatory investigations revealed that Bitkub did not reflect the relevant losses in its daily net capital report Form DA 1 from May 10 to October 30, 2021. The SEC alleged that the relevant executives made false statements in the company's official documents, leading regulators to believe that customer assets were intact and that the company had not suffered financial losses. Bitkub subsequently completed the acquisition of alternative assets in late October 2021, but the SEC believes that the reports during this period constituted false statements.In a statement on July 23, Bitkub asserted that existing customer holdings are secure and accounts are complete. Bitkub stated that its co-founders purchased alternative assets in the same quantity and currency to cover the losses and claimed that the cyber theft incident was reported to law enforcement on May 10, 2021.
app_icon
ChainCatcher Building the Web3 world with innovations.